Bookstagram Tour: Dear Edward

This was an emotional read where I caught myself with tears in my eyes at the early hours of the morning. I knew what I was getting myself into with reading about the aftermath of something tragic happening in someone’s life but it still surprised me.





Inspired by a true story of one child’s incredible survival--riveting, uplifting, unforgettable.

After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett.

In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy?

One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them is a Wall Street wunderkind, a young woman coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy, an injured vet returning from Afghanistan, a septuagenarian business tycoon, and a free-spirited woman running away from her controlling husband. And then, tragically, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor.

Edward's story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers. But then he makes an unexpected discovery--one that will lead him to the answers of some of life's most profound questions: When you've lost everything, how do find yourself? How do you discover your purpose? What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live?

Dear Edward is at once a transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again.


Thank you to readthebooktours who gave me the opportunity to review this wonderful book and to Penguin Books Aus who provided the copy. I adored the cover and really thought the dark colors set the mood of the plane scenes where the yellow contrasted in a way for Edward where he seeks guidance.


Napolitano set this fictional coming of age story at a right pace. We’re first introduced to our passengers and their backgrounds yet just enough to not give the entire story to them. Napolitano did a good job at giving each character its own voice and memory throughout the story. When you think 191 passengers you’re reading about, it’s hard to keep up but their differences brings it all together. She divided the chapters into before and after the crash. We’re drawn into Edward’s world after a while he tries to makes sense of things. The pacing was good. Napolitano did well in highlighting important events that played throughout Edward’s teen years. What I loved about him was that he was always curious and thinking of other people. He thought of the passengers and their loved ones. Only later on he tries to figure out a life for himself.


The main theme explored in this book was grief but I loved the way Napolitano used it on a teenage boy. She made it uplifting and life changing in a way where it was still emotional. She worked her way through the eyes of a teenage boy well. Also, how Edward sees his aunt cope and the people he meets. Their different approaches to grieving is, dear I say, beautiful to read.


I took my time reading this because from the first few chapters; I knew it will be an emotional rollercoaster. With stories like these, anyone can relate to and I sat back from each chapter and just absorbed it’s writing. The challenge Edward had to face with his uncle and aunt and Shay. The times when he felt lonely and lost. Shay was there for him like no other character. No other person in his life. She was the one who pushed him and together the found answers, made each other smile and I’m so happy with this ending. It’s raw and real. Edward is still grieving and never stops thinking about his brother. Yet he’s different from Eddie at the start of the book.


I’m so happy to give this book a five star rating. My first five stars for the year! You can find out more about the author and the book at: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/dear-edward-9780241384084

Subscribe for content and more!

  • Amazon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Follow

  • Pinterest - White Circle

Contact

Address

Perth WA 6000, Australia

©2017 BY RAATHI CHOTA. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM